Maryland | Washington DC | Virginia

KEC 1993

Suma Muralidhar
President of Kaveri, 1993

  • Suma Muralidhar hails from Bangalore, Karnataka. She came to the Washington D.C. area in 1979 and has been a part of the KAVERI family ever since. Over the years, she has served in various capacities, both informally and formally as an Executive Committee member to the President of Kaveri in 1993.

    With an avid interest in theater and music, she has participated in several plays and music presentations.
  • i. Of particular note was the production of Girish Karnad"s renowned play, "Hayavadana", in which she participated as the lead actor and producer. In addition to the show in the Washington DC area, the play was also staged in New Jersey, New York, Toronto, Los Angeles and Houston.
  • ii. More recently, she acted in another Karnad"s play, "Yayati", which was also staged in Washington DC, New Jersey, Boston, Pittsburgh, Detroit, Chicago, San Jose and Los Angeles.
  • iii. Currently, she is the producer as well as playing the role of Ekalavya"s mother, Abbe in Kuvempu"s, "Beralge Koral", which received critical acclaim at the Vasantha Sahithyothsava, held in Philadelphia in May, 2004. The play will be staged at the Kaveri Summer Festival/Ganesha Pooja on September 25, 2004. Other out-of-town shows are currently in the works.
  • iv. Served as Coordinator for Cultural Programs for KAVERI 25th Anniversary celebrations.
  • v. Co-directed a tableau "Punyakoti", by approximately 25 children for the KAVERI 25th Anniversary celebration.

Accomplishments of Kaveri in 1993:

  • i. All office bearers of Kaveri were women in this year!!
  • ii. Light music program by visiting artist Sunita Ananthaswamy, daughter of Mysore Ananthaswamy.
  • iii. Brilliant one-man show "ENCORE!" and one-act play, "MADUVE MADUVE!" by C.R.Simha, renowned dramatist/actor from Karnataka.
  • iv. Presentation of "Youth Festival" dedicated to cultural presentations by the Kaveri youth members.
  • v. "Thenali Rama" a play, directed, produced and enacted by the youth members: Director: Deepa Srikantaiah.
  • vi. Introduction of the special "Youth Corner" to the Kaveri quarterly newsletter.

Kaveri Committee Members for 1993

Name Role
Smt Suma Muralidhar President
Smt Anu Subramanyam Vice President
Smt Vijaya Krishna Secretary
Smt Chandra Bappanad/ S.Ananthaswamy Treasurer
Smt Jamuna Srinivas Member
Sri T. Srikantaiah Member
Sri Gopinath Boray Member
Deepa Srikantaiah Youth Member
Shruti Nataraja Youth Member
Divya Kumar Youth Member